I’m a Child of Divorce

My parents got divorced when I was 7 years old. I remember more about it than I’d like to. The worst part about having divorced parents is you never feel like you know the truth about what happened. My dad says one thing and my mom says something completely different.

I’m not saying I want them to be best friends or anything I just want them to be able to be in the same room as each other. One of my parents refused to help me move into my dorm when i went to college just because the other parent was going to be there. That’s where my line is. It’s fine that you two don’t like each other but don’t make me suffer more than I already have. My parents used to bash each other in front of me.

I wish more parents understood that if you have a baby with someone, you are stuck with that person for the rest of your life. Whether you get a divorce or not. Don’t make the kids your messengers back and forth between you two. It’s not fair to the kids. You clearly liked the person enough to make a baby with them, so you should be willing to be civil around each other for the kids sake.

Maybe I’ll never really know what happened for my parents to get divorced. I just want peace. I’m tired of having separate families.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

