My Girlfriend 3x Defeater of the Big C

My girlfriend is unlike any person I’ve ever met. She is my champion, my hero, my life. When she was only 2 years old, she was diagnosed with A.L.L. which is cancer in her blood. That wasn’t the only time she was sick either. She was also diagnosed at age 10 and once again at 20 years old. She’s only 22 years old and she’s had cancer 3 times. Currently she’s still in remission!

Looking at her, you would never know she’s ever had cancer. She is one of the strongest women I know. She amazes me every single day. You have to imagine how strong and determined and maybe even bull-headed this girl had to be at only 2 years old, to not let cancer take her away. At 2 years old she looked death in the face and said “not today”. I couldn’t imagine being so young and having to battle your body for your own life 3 different times, I don’t think I would be strong enough to do what she did.

When I think about what she had to go through, it makes me so emotional (yes I’m almost in tears right now) and so mad! It’s not fair that she got sick. At 2 years old I was running around like crazy and she was throwing up from chemo. At 10 years old I was playing 3 different sports and she was getting spinal taps and more chemo cocktails. We got lucky with the last time she got sick. She was able to just do oral medication for it and sure enough, she’s in remission. If you ask her, she’ll tell you all about it. She’s so humble about it though, she acts like she didn’t accomplish anything, but we all know she did.

She has scars from the spinal taps and a large scar on her chest from her port. The one on her chest, I think is beautiful. To me, it’s a symbol/reminder of how strong she is. But, she’s self conscious about it and that drives me crazy. She deserves to walk around feeling proud of the fact that she DEFEATED CANCER 3 TIMES! Although lately she hasn’t been so afraid of people seeing it.

When I look at her, I’ll just end up staring because she has this zest for life about her. She’s almost been knocked down by cancer multiple times and yet, she has no anger about it. I don’t know about you, but I’d be one ticked off chick if I was her.

One of the things that also amazes me about her is, despite what she went through, she wants to become a nurse and help little kids who are going through what she went through. She wants to inspire them and make them see that, just because you have cancer, it does not mean the end is near. I know one day she’ll get there, she’s too stubborn not to. I just hope that when she does become a nurse who helps kids, I hope they see her the way I do, with pure amazement and they feel strength to push through anything.

When she was sick the second time, her surgeon let her keep the port that was in her chest. Then, one of her family friends turned it into a beautiful necklace. The picture that I have featured is the necklace that was made out of her port.

She is a champion and I strive for her to feel like one every single day.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

